Over sharing regret

The company I work for recently hosted an international meeting for all of the company to attend and network etc..

They asked me to feature in a panel discussion session where a few employees discussed (with a couple of TV celebs, on stage) our passions. I am a keen amateur opera singer in my spare time. It was all based around "high performance" and personal passions outside of the workplace. The session was ok, quite nerve-wracking but not too bad.

The next day focussed on building a commitment culture in the workplace, personal motivations for work, building trust etc... It included a whole day session on sharing our personal work story, our motivations, being comfortable to share our stories, creating safe spaces. By the end of the day we had all written a short bio in groups of three which we were encouraged to share with the whole company. 

As a person with ASD I thought this was great, I love sharing my story with people and am always happy to chat about my experiences (I have a disabled husband and or family is heavily impacted by a rare disease). It really felt like the NTs we're getting onboard with being open, building trust and safe spaces and I felt comfortable to unmask and share my deeply personal story. 

However, it turned out that the NTs we're only saying they are OK about sharing their stories, but none of them actually did. Of the four people that stood to speak, I'd say at least 3 of them were neurodivergent. Now I'm left feeling really exposed and emotionally bruised that I shared something deeply personal in what I thought was a safe space, in the spirit of building trust.

I'm very newly diagnosed ASD and navigating all this stuff after masking my true identity for almost 50 years. Again, I feel deceived that I've got on board with letting people see the real me only to discover they didn't really want to and aren't comfortable with that ***....