I've been waiting for ages and I don't know what to do.

Sorry if my words aren't grate, my dyslexia is really bad rite now.

I hav been on the waiting list for an assessment for I think over 2 years (I believe it was during my first year at my second college and I was there for 2 years, and I am now in my second year at university). I haven't heard anything about an assessment and it is really stressing me out. I can't find the letter I got from the doctors (I am worried it may have been thrown out when my stuff was moved into the smaller bedroom at home so my sister could have the bigger one). I remember the letter specifically saying to not contact the doctors about it because they won't have any answers and that is the only thing I remember it saying (it definatly had more but I do t remember what it said). I don't know how to go about chasing this up because I don't ha e any contact info that I can use, I'd have to go to my GP. My anxiety from this is getting worse and it feels like it is affecting my uni work, or at least my motivation to do it. I think I need therapy or something for it but I don't know what to do. I have looked online at prices and it is so expensive. I would go through the NHS but with how long I am waiting for my assessment I don't think I'll ever get seen for anything. I just want the process started. I feel like I can't ask for help in lessons and I find it hard to ask for accomodations like extensions because I don't have the piece of paper that says I have autism. I sometimes feel that I don't deserve it, even though I know I do. It's hard for my brain to accept it sometimes, and even when I am trying to explain how sertan things are affecting me, I have to force myself to get the words out.

What I'm asking:

1. How do I go about asking my GP for an update on where I am on the waiting list for an assessment as I have been waiting for so long and can't find the letter?