Employment

What jobs do people have? If any. 

• I don't work rn but I do videos on YT and that is earning me a little if that counts. 

• That sounds cool! Do you get to work outside a lot? I definitely agree, working freelance/self employed is definitely much more comfortable for me, too!

• I work as a freelance gardener handyman. It requires little social interaction and means I'm working on my own which suits me best. 

• I worked for 34 years in biomedical research in universities, but took early retirement in 2020.

• Want something simple, stress free and without early starts, maybe a cafe job or retail

I wish you all the best with that. Moving to a new location has got to be one of the most stressful events on top of seeking suitable employment you feel comfortable with---good luck.

• I am a photocopier engineer, mostly working in schools. Always been in a IT repair/build job since I left school. Have never had a career , just bumbled along doing this. No I am 53 I have really had enough, I hate it, would love to retire. It is not just this job but any job really, it is all a massive struggle. However in 18 months we are relocating  to a much cheaper area so will have no debts and mortgage and I will just need to work to pay for the basics. Want something simple, stress free and without early starts, maybe a cafe job or retail as have never worked in anything like that. 

• Like so many people here , I have struggled to find and stay in work. I was forced in to self employment by the job center but was paid less than the minimum wage. I  have dyscalculia so it was a disaster trying to keep producing invoices. Now I am happy volunteering litter picking and had a nice day out today in the sun for once. Four bags of litter collected so am happy.