The Start of my Journey to getting an Assessment

Hi everyone,

I'm nearly 40, pansexual and have just started working with Autistic adults (3 months ago). I'm also a published author.

Since doing all the awareness etc training and my own research, it's feeling more and more likely I'm Autistic. 

I've always been 'weird', have to decide how to feel and what to say about stuff beforehand, and have various sensory 'quirks' that I always assumed were normal for everyone.

I suppose I'm just here looking for accounts of experiences of the assessment process as an adult, and any barriers anyone has hit regarding other people believing or understanding my suspicions that I'm Autistic.

Thanks everyone,

Jenn.

• I've asked to be referred through right To choose via Psychiatry-UK. It's a service that will assess you for both adhd and asd and that's funded by the nhs. Wait time I think is just a few months. I worked in primary care for a while and sent patients to them all the time.

• Hi Jenn. Welcome! 

I typed out a reply earlier but it hadn't uploaded for some reason, so I'll try again...

One of the best resources for female and non-binary autistic people that I've found is Squarepeg : squarepeg.community/.../

Amy, the creator, is a late diagnosed former teacher. Her podcast is now in season 8, so lots of episodes to choose from.