Is this meltdown, shutdown, or something else?

As a recently diagnosed 44 year old autistic, I’m still beginning to match past and ongoing experiences to newly discovered terminology. 

I’m also realising that m, while there’s comfort in the broad commonalities of this invaluable community, one can also feel quite alone in just how bespoke/unique one’s own particular case of being autistic is, feels like, etc. I mean when going though the threads and posts and there’s never that exact match hoped for to *precisely* how you feel, and how strongly. Because we’re all unique of course - why am I surprised? 

but I’m hoping that if I attempt to describe the inner experience of something that happens to me every so often (most recently beginning yesterday and still hitting hard today) then one of more of you may recognise is as having sufficient overlap with your own experiences to tell me whether I’m correct in applying the meltdown’ or ‘shutdown’ descriptor to it, or whether it’s a hybrid of the two. Or something for which an even more precise label exists that I haven’t yet chanced upon. 

To use yesterday as the example, I was in work and already finding concentration hard due sensory overstimulation. The (very defendable- given Covid) decision of colleagues to have all the windows open, was making the room feel ice cold to me, the sunny weather was refracting off the walls, and the noise of some machinery out in the roof was humming away relentlessly. That in itself is par for the course, and I do what I can to offset it - sunglasses go on, hoody  goes on and up (not passive-aggressively, I just don’t want to freeze) and I have earplugs which are on standby just in case it helps.