Burnout Advice

Hey everyone,

My mums birthday is tomorrow and I've had to plan a lunch out with her and my brother because he's useless and I'm feeling burnout with having to plan it and get it organised especially at the moment its been hard to find somewhere to book because everything has all be booked for months in advance and also I'm not good at remembering birthdays at all so I had a bit of a oh f*** moment when I realised its her birthday (I'm bad at remembering birthdays I even forget mine).

I'll definitely be burnt out tomorrow and the day after because it's happening over 2 days because she's going out with different people. I've forgotten to get a card too and I feel bad and anxious because of that as well. 

Just wondering how you guys handle burnout and what you might do to help.

Thanks, O

• Thank you Michael,

That's actually really good for me to do I will definitely use that approach.

Normally I can handle it ok and I'll be fine after one day of just being on my own doing my thing but I've just started a new online course which I've never done before and it's completely thrown me out my routine so I'm having to adjust to my new routine now that in it's self is burning me out even though I'm enjoying what I'm doing. So thank you for that I think that will help me from my mind going all over the place.

• Hey,

Birthday wishes to your mum, O.

First thing first. Give yourself a break and chill out!

With burnout, the first thing I have to do is to check in on my stressful thoughts. This is the best way I know to begin to talk myself down from the edge, so to speak, and not allow myself to be carried away on a stretcher by my emotions. I will still need to rest and recover, I know that, but it will be much easier to rest and quicker to recover if I'm not weighed down by all the fake news in my head.

Here's how I would approach your situation, O: