Better Eating

Hi there!

I'm a 20 year old autistic girl and I have been struggling with my eating habits for my entire life. Now that I am an adult, I want to get better at eating. 

My diet is very limited so if anyone knows any good and simple reciepes/cookbooks for food with simple tastes and textures that would be great.

All advice welcome.

• People often tell me that. I'm sure there's a good one out there already. There's too many books and not enough people reading the good ones!

• how about you writing a introductory cook book ? just an idea :)

• I'm being dull and not understanding the question. What do you mean?

• I'm a bit cautious about cook books, I think they can lead you to not developing cooking skill and being dependent on them. I'd say buy veg you like the look of, take it home and just try and cook it. Lots will be just ok, some failures, some will work. And slowly you'll teach yourself.

One book I would recommend is Jane Grison's Vegetable book. Most of the people I know who are really into cooking rate it their top one.

I used to teach an evening's intro course to vegan cooking, so here's a handout to that with some recipes and tips on how to change your diet: docs.google.com/.../edit

• I’m 34 I’m in the same boat when it comes to food I’m getting better though I switched from full sugar Pepsi 6 cans a dayGrimacing to mainly water and I never go a day without eating fruit still eating a lot of crap it needs to stop 

• You need to give us more information on why your diet is limited for anyone to suggest a solution, What is your food nightmares ? 

Because if its vegetables you have a problem with then a food processor and blender might be an ideal solution to alter the texture of food so it is more manageable. They also allow you  process vegetables to small chunks or a paste that can enable you to hide extra vegetables in foods like pasta sauces, curries and stews.