Meditation

Hi,

For a long time now I’ve been trying meditation to try to lower my anxiety and deal with the effects of ptsd, and also to improve my well being overall. However I have got to the point where I’m beginning to wonder if it can actually help me. I struggle so much to focus and to get my mind to calm and settle. I’m wondering if meditation is particularly difficult for autistic people.

Has anyone on here had much success with meditation? And if so - what kind of meditation practice did you use? I’d really appreciate some advice on this. Part of me feels that I might as well give up with it because all that’s happening now is that I feel like a failure for not benefiting from something that so many other people say is so wonderful. 

Parents
  • Hello Kate

A few questions first, how long have you been meditating, what practice do you use and what are your expectations?

I’m no expert but I’ve been meditating daily, usually shortly after I get up, for 7 years. I use a combination of techniques, I use the Insight Timer App, you can download from the App Store, it has hundreds of meditation practises and is very helpful. I also use the Mindfulness of Breathing and the Metta Bhavana. Equally I’ve been part of the London Buddhist Centre for the same amount of time.

There’s a great myth about meditation and being in some calm and tranquil state. Of course you might be but equally it can be a reflection of how you are in the moment, it is what it is. You cannot force it to be something!

We all have overactive minds, we cannot make our minds blank. So when meditating and a thought pops into our minds, we observe it but don’t dwell on it or get enmeshed with it, just allow it to pass through and sure enough the same thought will appear again or a different thought will show itself, observe and let it pass through, don’t dwell on it or make it an issue.