Poor eating

Hi everybody, I’m new to all this and this is my first time writing on anywhere like this! 
so I have a 3 year old, Archie, he’s on the asd assessment process. He has many issues and many quirky little ways about him, but the one that easily causes me the most stress and worry is his lack of eating! He just will not eat anything that I call meal foods, it’s all about the snack food for him, complete refusal to try anything new at all, I’m at my wits end with it. I give him vitamins to at least try and get some goodness into him. Iv been told before to keep cooking him his meals and he will eat when he’s hungry, my thing is, he doesn’t, he can be starving and still not eat! He gags on anything soft. 
so I guess the point to my post is, what do others do? Do I just give him what he likes so at least he eats something, while offering new foods in small amounts or do I do as iv been told and carry on cooking his meals and hope one day he eat at least a mouthful? 

• Hello, I have been thinking a lot about my own childhood food issues and remember my grandmother serving mashed potatoes as one dish I would eat but she made a game of it by making faces in the mash which we then added gravy to. I wish I could do more but it is so difficult even as an adult to explain to people. 

• No problem.. Good luck with everything. 

• No he’s not overly keen on messy play and god help us if he gets some ‘wet’ food on his hand! It really is a constant worry, some days/ weeks I honestly don’t know how he functions on what little I actually get him to eat, and my goodness he functions haha I call him my Duracell bunny, he never stops! 
    oh iv not heard of ARFRID, I will definitely look into it