Fanfiction and/or fiction

Do you generally read or write fiction and/or fanfiction?

I spend my life reading and writing stories of various types, and I wondered if this is normal for autistic people. I thought we were supposed to have very limited imaginations and interests and that was how we got diagnosed. But my imagination is vast, I tend to live in a fantasy world rather than the real world because it is nicer tbh!

What is your imagination like?

• i do the same! i have so many fanfictions & fictions in my reading list, and dozens of my own drafts. glad to know i’m not the only one!

• No thank you. I can't concentrate on long books anymore, and I'm an editor so I read books for work every day. I need to carefully preserve my eyesight for my work, I already wear thick glasses and I need my eyes to earn a living. I've always preferred films for relaxation.

• maybe you should try something else for a change

like reading the same book in different languages, that makes you think about how imaginative are some people doing translating, and how terribly botched job can do other. I read mainly sci-fi and fantasy. there is plenty of made up words. some very difficult to translate, I had few in Asimov's Fundation even a colleague studying english literature at uni had to give up

• So the 'experts' cof cof cof are wrong when they say autistic people have limited imagination. Interesting indeed isn't it.

• I remember Janet and John! I was reading long before I started school, my mum said I called them Stupid Janet and Silly John Rofl 

I think I had the same thing- I had to read through all the boring books before I got to the interesting ones at school.

My daughter is the same. I don't know how she learned to read- one day she couldn't and the next day she could!

Whereas my husband struggled at school and still does struggle with reading.

Different types of brain I guess?