PC/Console Gaming

Just a general question for anyone else like myself who has an obsession for gaming. One of my obsessions is football so I enjoy playing an online football game against other gamers my only problem I seem to struggle with is my game play is slower than others and no matter how hard I try to rectify this problem I just cannot seem to fix it.

I've been playing on consoles/PC's for over 30 years. It gets to the point where I'm just annoyed and infuriated. Could this possibly have any link to my ASC? For example my brains processing speed.

On the other hand I have played games in the past like football managing games where I just end up winning everything and any simulation games I'm just really great at.

I'm still trying to figure out a lot about myself since my diagnosis last year.

Anyway I hope everyone is doing well and staying safe through these tough times.

Parents
  • Not sure if it's autism related. But I find that when playing games (whether PC or board games) I tend to end up trying to always consider all the options before working out what to do. Some games where that's feasible I tend to be better when playing with friends. But once a game system is too complex to consider all the options I tend to grind to a halt - where others seem better with relying more on intuition.

Or if a game requires fast reaction times, I struggle if there's too much going on, but am fine if there's less to process. Like with 2D platformers which I used to play a lot (especially Sonic games) I tended to find quite easy. But give me a 3D platformer and I struggle to control the character at all.