First xmas post-diagnosis

Well, I've been cancelling xmas for a few years now even before I thought I was Aspie.

I was Done with Christmas Cards a long time ago ( Wink) except to my family and have a good reason to be in my own home away from the madness as the parrots need feeding of course.

I gave up displaying any cards I got and don't decorate at all now. I really like this arrangement. I go into work in the holiday to keep a mental hand in. It's all about keeping a normality through two weeks of holiday celebrations for most people. (getting into the spirit of it for days on end is like a rabbit hole and difficult to get out of)

I feel blessed and thankful

It will be interesting post dx for this year, as I'm starting to let my mask drop and be the person I really am. I will be testing the waters. No more expectations SmirkSmiling imp 

• I, personally, LOVE sending Christmas Cards; as well as Christmas Decorations. (I put up my new tree, decorations and lights this morning)

Each to their own, I guess. However, there are plenty of individuals with skeletons in their family closet. My brother no longer heads home for Christmas - he's Final Year at Magee University in Derry, studying Software Development - and I won't force him. He's more single-minded than me.

My Star Sign is Cancer - so, I am a home bird by nature.

• Same here. I only realised about 3 years ago that my second wife and I had kind of drifted into a world where we don't send cards & presents to my mother's huge extended family anymore, and it's wonderful! My ex wife saw me not bothering and took upon herself the job of feeding cards and gifts to my mother's family, and got annoyed with me that she "had to" do it. It's a blessed release from the nagging and recriminations - I can just be myself.