More work problems

Continuing with my problems at work.

And the incidents that annoy me.

I work as a support worker with people having both physical & mental disabilities who exhibit challenging behaviour.  

Last week I got a severe reprimand from a senior support worker for using my smartphone at work.  I was checking the weather forecast on the BBC site.  A couple of hours later the same support worker was spending hours on her smartphone playing solitaire, while her colleague was on social websites.    I hate hypocrisy.

I still haven't been sacked.   But I am facing a formal disciplinary hearing in two weeks time, where one option is dismissal.

New charges against me include, that at one meeting I was moving about on a rotating chair playing with it.  I was actually stimming while under stress and trying to relax.

Smiley

Parents
  • I would always suggest (and you may be already planning to do this) that you attend the meeting with a work colleague or even if possible a Union Rep so you have some one independent on such a serious meeting where dismissal is an issue.  Get them to make notes from both sides on what is said.  This does seem a bit hypocritical but does the company have something about smart phone use in the company handbook ?  

• These problems have been going on for months.  The real problem is the unwritten unspoken rules of behaviour.

There is a company handbook.   And at previous HR management meetings I have pointed out that I was following written procedures when I was formally disciplined. The HR response was contradictory.  She pointed out that rules and procedures must be followed to the letter. And added that sometimes we must ignore the written procedures, otherwise nothing will ever be done.

Rules on smartphones are loose.  We are allowed to use them occasionally when needed.   But not neglect our work while doing so.