Employment

Hello, I’m just reaching out to see how everyone is surviving monetarily. I have never been able to keep a job more than a year and a half (not including my part time employment at my first job which was Toys R Us. It was my favorite job by far because it was so repetitive and if I became overwhelmed I always had back up). I’m now 31 and since that time I have had I don’t even know how many different jobs. I have my bachelors in early childhood Ed and special education but could only teach about a year. Ive worked in Sales, leasing, advising (work from home) but I ALWAYS burn out. I break down, can’t do anything and then find another place to work. I was finally diagnosed with ASD After I had a really bad breakdown leaving my leasing job. I was out of my job for a few months and now am in even more debt that I was from getting loans for my bachelors degree. I want to do something without time constraints, away from most people and most importantly without comparison to others. Most of my jobs involve being compared to others and I never do well. I used to be able to mask previous to the last burn out but I feel like I’ve lost this capability. This is really causing me a lot of trouble on top of the normal issues. What does everyone here do? Do you have any suggestions?

• I tried working but it resulted in stress, anxiety, meltdowns and issues with the police so now I'm at home and on benefits as working, currently is too much for me. You might be able to work part time for the time being whilst you get back on your feet, or maybe you could look at volunteering as that would be on your own terms and might give you some extra confidence.

• Hi Bree

If you taught for a year then how about private tutoring?  I do this part time and work part time and that was been life changing for me.  (I tutor secondary school science).