Neurodiverse Nurses - where are you!?!?

Hi everyone, 

I'm relatively new on this ND journey of discovery, got my assessment coming up in the next few weeks. Excited but nervous! 

I am a registered nurse and at the time I was practising nursing in a patient facing setting, I did not know I was an autistic person.  I really struggled actually and looking back at my experience, I was deeply discriminated against for being "different" and I was bullied as a student and as a registered staff nurse.  Last year, I had an episode of autistic burnout where I completely regressed, had a complete mental breakdown requiring hospitalisation and couldn't even look after myself on a basic level.  Unfortunately, I felt so unsupported (even from a mental health perspective) and I felt that the only option available to me was to leave my permanent post in the NHS.  At the time (and still a bit now tbh), I felt pretty devastated by this decision, even though it was absolutely the right thing for me to do at the time.  I always enjoyed taking care of patients, even when it was stressful and unpredictable and I felt the reasons I wasn't supported was because the NHS, in my opinion, does not do enough to support its staff.   I still maintain to this day  that if I had been given the correct support at the time, I would never have left my post within the NHS.  I still work as a nurse but I work from home and I no longer am employed by the NHS.  I have to wonder how many people are in my position and have been in the past? With the NHS on its knees, nurses are needed more than ever and it just strikes me as such a waste and could be totally prevented.