A theory on what autism could actually be...

Hi Everyone, i've be supporting adults and children on the spectrum for a few years, i'm no expert, just a caring person who likes to help others, i've researched lots to gain a better understanding, and in order to help me do my job in the best way i can, i love working with autism, but the one thing that i cant find the answer to is the cause, there has been so much speculation and false truths, i have my own theory that seems to fit well, especially knowing how special people on the spectrum are...

I genuinely feel that human beings are starting the next step in evolution, it doesnt happen overnight, and we would be naive to think we have reached perfection, far from it, perhaps physically we are somewhere near..

The brain is a massively complicated piece of hardware, we don;t use much of its potential, are people on the spectrum the first step?  about 10% of people on spectrum are savant, but in my experience, all of the people i work with are special, and have  some unbelievable abilities in 1 area or another, they are all a better version of humanity, if the whole world was full of people on the spectrum, even at these early stages on evolution, we wouldnt have the problems we have today..

i could go on, but i would love to hear other peoples views on my theory, whilst evolution is working on the brain, other areas of the brain are being affected, it may take 1000's of years to get right, i just wonder what the first fish to start to develope land and oxygen based qualities actually looked like, because they wouldnt of just grew legs and lungs over night.

Parents
  • I've met some pretty mean nasty controlling autists, as well as loads of special and neutral ones. My guess is we're no better or worse than NTs for being kind overall. The kind ones in need of support get carers, the less kind ones in need of support I'm guessing get jail instead cos we've failed them.