Newby

Hi just introducing myself ,I'm a 48year old male and was diagnosed in June this year having had a previous assesment about two years ago  which they said I was borderline but they weren't sure because of my diagnosis of mixed anxiety and depressive disorder ,then I moved up to Newcastle a got another assesment  and was diagnosed finally and when they looked at the previous test result they said I should've been diagnosed with ASD then.i thought being diagnosed would help but to be honest it's fucked my head right up and I still trying to figure it out ,I still don't  know where the aspergers starts and the anxiety /depression finish,I feel like after being diagnosed I was just left to myself with no support  apart from the mental  health crises team  ,so after being diagnosed I just feel  I'm just f***** as before . 

[Edited by Moderator]

• Thank you, this is my first time  on any forum but the replies I got already have helped thank you

• Welcome,

I'm the same age as you, though diagnosed about four years ago. The situation you find yourself in is pretty common; most of us who were diagnosed late are going through or have been through similar times, and getting no formal follow-up support is, sadly, quite typical too. However, the kind of support and learning that you can find on forums like this one can be a huge help; in fact, probably more help than any psychologist could ever provide, because you can talk to people who actually experience autism "from the inside" in ways that a professional never could.