I am feelilng lost

I am feeling lost and hollow. 

I was a teacher for 32 years. I quit my job last week because of issues related to student on student bullying. I was a 4th grade teacher who lost two students on sequential days over allegations of bullying. 

One male student was verbally harrassed by a classmate who repeatedly used the n-word. Admin was in the process of investigating parental allegations of bullying but after the parents withdrew the student, the investigation was dropped and there were no consequences for the student in question. 

The other student I lost was female. A male classmate literally punched her in the face so that she was dazed, bruised, bleeding, and in tears. Admin put the student who had assaulted her into one day of detention. When the student strutted back into class, his behavior was worse than it had been before this incident had occurred. The parents withdrew their daughter the next day.

I teach (or taught) in Nevada. I typically got to work at 5 AM because I liked leaving at 4 PM at the end of my contracted day. Getting to work early allowed me to be well organized for the coming day. I was also able to grade papers and to record them, to work on lesson plans for the coming week, and to catch up on my correspondence.

On the morning I quit, I had opened an email from the principal. It was a reminder that I  had to have my self assessment goals completed within the next two days. I had two goal statements; one for professional growth and one for community growth.

The principal had advised me to state that my professional growth would entail bringing all academically deficient students up by one grade level by year's end. For my community growth, she had recommended that I reach out to parents with twice daily positive comments.