Hyperfocus and Long distance relationship

I really need some advice...

So I have trouble focusing on more than one thing at once; I tend to use all my attention on the person or activity in front of me, and while I try and avoid things I know I will hyperfixate on, it doesn't always work.

This has always impacted all types of relationships but I guess now it has gotten worse. Me and my partner are long distance, we regularly meet up and have been together 3 years. She gets me and is so supportive of me no matter how chaotic I am and I am happy to say we got engaged this year. However due to finance reasons we haven't moved in together just yet.

She has adhd and I have autism, which is great but they also clash. And I am not good at phone calls texts or remembering to do anything unless its right in front of me, whereas she is so used to doing 20 things at once. So she always helps me out and sets up reminders and is there for me when I fall down. But im not always there for her and that makes things one sided. And I annoy myself because its not even like I don't want to be, she is my world and I would help her through anything. And though i have hourly alarms to remind me to do things like eat and check our messages, and she always gives ne a 5 min warning before she calls, I always end up missing the calls and ignoring the reminders when she needs me most because im hyoerfixated on my uni work or minecraft or a book or some mythology im researching and I cant keep making her feel like she has no one to turn to or that I say im there and want to be there but then show the opposite in my actions.

So basically im asking how do people manage hyperfocus, or even remembering to regularly communicate when something isn't necessarily visible 24/7.

And thank you for your time reading this xxx

Parents
  • UPDATE:

Okay, this is for anyone in a similar situation looking for some advice.