Exquisite Terrible Paradox

Hi,

I have autism.

I do not have that diagnosis, or any therapist or anyone telling me that.

I have been hiding in denial for 20 years, even through therapy and psychiatry.

My professional career - now burned - had scientific rigour, heuristics, formal logic and systems analysis at it's core.

My self doubt drives fascinations with cognitive biases, metaphor and irony. My love of words is exquisite.

I cannot - try as I might, with absolute fervour - dispute the hypothesis that I have autism.

I am delighted, terrified, filled with self doubt, totally free and holding my breath all at the same time.

I can chill out. I have the strategies. I keep [expletive] forgetting them or ignoring them.

I have the strongest, weakest mind ever. Which is to say, I'm normal, I have autism.

I am desperate for someone to look me in the face and tell me it's true and it's ok.

Thanks for /rant.

Parents
  • what are your IT skills ?  

• Sorry - just read your bio.
    I burned out of work a couple of years ago. And now unblocked my passion for: my dog, daoism, non-dualism, consciousness science - and set a focus on nature and the environment. (Among many other other things)
    The more people I 'meet' here the more uncanny it gets.

• i have watched scores of hours of videos on non-dualism. I found it made sense/ didnt make sense at same time. On advice of Zen Masters I dropped back to standard meditation , living mindfulness, as trying to go direct to Non-dualism was too much for me ( just right now )..  I still do an full awareness meditation occasionally which  I picked up from Alan Watts.

I also have read quite a bit of The Way, The Tao/Dao which is great stuff to be honest. 

I am a mad environmentalist so planting trees makes me feel great Slight smile