Going through the process of getting diagnosed - worried

Hi

im new to online forum things so sorry if I shouldn’t be writing on here.

i am 38 years old and have always felt different, life felt like one big act which can be very draining. 

Recently everything seemed to come crashing down and I have had a really bad 18 months, things are getting better now but my GP who is very understanding felt that I maybe autistic. This didn’t come as a surprise as it has been mentioned to me in the past, however after hospital visits and reading documentation sent I am getting stressed.

i have been online to learn more and am finding some are saying a formal diagnosis is a relief and others are saying it is the worst thing they have ever done. I am now scared, stressed and constantly worrying about this. I am hoping some others who have been through this can help me decide if to continue or stop the process.

any help would be really appreciated 

thank you in advance 

Parents
  • Welcome

I have just been referred by my GP for a referral after a year of being a member on the forum and a self-confession self diagnosed woman on the spectrum.

I am seeking the diagnosis for myself, I take this as my personal journey...I am not doing it for validation or acceptance from others but for self-validation.

From understanding the way that I mask my behaviour and compensate for the areas that I struggle with on a daily basis was key to my understanding.  Why at the age of 43 have I made that decision? I go to the point where my masking strategies were beginning to waver and as a result more and more of the autistic me became apparent.

https://digest.bps.org.uk/2017/10/18/the-concept-of-compensation-makes-sense-of-several-autism-puzzles/