Hello

Hi this is my first time using a forum i just wanted to say hi and share a little of our story. It has taken us 10 years to finally get a diagnosis for our daughter. We were told when she was 3 that she had autism but couldn't get a statement or any help. Her home life is fine she is the sweetest natured child ever it has been a very long hard struggle and now we have the diagnosis I feel we were left with no support she also has A.D.D and we have no dedicated service for that here either we are totally lost I'm terrified for her future she's going up to year 11 in september. I was given a list of Web sites and some leaflets and I feel completely overwhelmed by the volume of information on the Internet. I'm not sure what is relevant to her and what isn't. It would be great to have someone tell us what we do next. Sorry for long post lol does anybody else feel the same?

• Hi Barb, I've got lots of empathy. Are you UK based? I'm in NZ and initially I felt there was nothing but I'm finding more as I go.

Kids change over time and their needs change so I would be asking for a new assessment. Hopefully this will give some direction for support.

In the meantime, think about what things she struggles with that she will need to be able to do if independent and work with her on creative ways to learn and do these things.