• Yeah,  me to, mostly self taught and also able to mostly instinctively know the correct grammar but the formal parts and words just hurt my brain. I keep going back to it but it doesn’t seem to get any easier. 

• After years and years of experience I know most of the correct grammar instinctively.

I just cannot identify the formal parts or understand the jargon used by the experts.

I get told off for using split infinitives.  What the f**K is an infinitive.

To make matters worse I went to college with one guy who was an expert.  Grammar school, ten 'O' levels plus English 'A' level.  I went to special schools and normal comprehensive.

He was always correcting me and once asked  me,  if I was taught English, or did I just pick it up?

He was right, I am self taught.

• I’ve been at learning this stuff for years but even though I love reading and writing and I love the granmer side of things, I just can’t seem to get my head around a lot of it. I think I need to be taught it in a different way. Maybe I’ll do a course in it someday. 

• These are very basic.

I am still struggling to learn formal English grammar at this moment.

Topics like tenses:

Present simple,

Present continuous, 

Past simple,

Past continuous,

Present perfect simple,

Present perfect continuous,

The differences and similarities etc.  Are doing my head in.

• I should have known it really, I trained as a medical secretary so I’m pretty sure I learned it there. I don’t think everyone follows those kinds of grammatical rules today, I like to and still like learning them, but I do forget.

• A careers advisor, working for a recruitment agency should know it!

• Thanks. I couldn’t remember what it was. 

• You put 

Yours faithfully,

NOT

Yours sincerely,

Even I, who failed English language O level five times, knows that!

• I think that it's great that you're planning ahead - that's the first step towards improving your life!