Relationship dating coaching therapy

Hi there,

I have a son who was diagnosed with Aspergers at 14, he is now 31. He is very successful in his career but reallly struggles with romantic relationships. 

im looking for a therapist in or near Hackney Wick to support him in making sense of it all. I’m a therapist myself, retired, and what I find difficult these days is every therapist I look at says they work with Aspergers & autism but non I’ve found have done any training for it. 

ssadly, all too often therapist lust everything under the sun as a thing they understand. This isn’t useful when looking for a a therapist with specific training & experience with an issue.

just wondering if anyone knows if any therapists, counsellors or coaches who they have found good.

im sure this isn’t unusual, it’s the subtle nuances he struggles with. He doesn’t know how to go from friend to girlfriend.

warmest wishes

Christine  

Parents
  • Welcome, Christine.

Before I proceed, I should point out that I do intend to sound a rather strong note of caution. However, I stress that I have nothing in principle against psychotherapy; in fact I have benefitted from it immensely - though as you rightly say, finding the right psychotherapist is crucial. I certainly empathise with your son, having spent all but a few short months of my nearly fifty years entirely devoid of romance in my life - though naturally, examples taken from my own life may not apply; so apologies if my rhetoric appears presumptuous in places (and please excuse the lengthy post - short ones take me far longer to write, as I'm a hopeless procrastinator when it comes to editing!)...

I think it's important to be very clear that psychotherapy may be a very limited solution at best - because at it's heart, autism is not a psychological condition, but a neurological one (as I'm sure you're well aware!)