ASD high functioning daughter, secondary schools Surrey - advice please!

Hi everyone, 

This is my first time writing here... I’m seeking advice on excellent secondary schools for my daughter (currently in Y5). She has a diagnosis of ASD, select mute and needs a lot of support with academics (this is not a priority for us - we just want her to be happy and willing to go to school). She is otherwise high functioning but prone to high levels of anxiety.
School would need to be in Guildford or very near as have 2 other children and extended travel time would cause her anxiety anyway. We are currently awaiting decision on EHCP.
Any advice would be much appreciated xx

Parents
  • As you are awaiting decision on EHCP, you know the process. If you get EHCP, you can name the school and go through the stages of the process to get there. If you don't get the EHCP, you may settle, or decide to appeal and basically continue along the said process. NAS offer excellent advice on the first text of the proposed EHCP.

I am sure you are aware of the excellent schools maintained by the Surrey county council. They should be listed in their 'Local offer' on their website.

Have you visited them? 

Deciding on a school is a very anxious time for parents, you feel responsibility not to make a mistake, how can you judge what will work well and what will not. I've been there.

The best way is to make a list of as many schools as you like that feel possibly right for your daughter. Then to visit them, to research them, to talk to them. You will get more clarity and will have new evidence to re-evaluate your criteria and your list. Keep on doing this and eventually you are going to converge on the school that intuitively and explicitly seem to be the best fit for your daughter.

Getting a place in that school is another thing all together. Charities like NAS, IPSEA and SOSSEN are all able to help.