I think it's PDA

Hi, 

I have a wonderful 13yr old who I've suspected as having autism for years. I've been telling professionals for about the last 8years that my child is "different" I have finally had my asd referral accepted and am now waiting for an assessment. I have been waiting for so long that I have been doing some research into autism and have been reading a book on understanding PDA and feel that my child fits this better than aspergers etc. I was wondering how long it usually takes to go through the first assessment process by all accounts I'm waiting for the Dr to present my daughter to the panel. As you can probably tell this is my first time using this forum and I'm not very good using computers. Any advice is welcome as I'm a single mum and am fed up with being told I'm a bad parent and I'm "mistaken" etc. 

Thank you for reading

Parents
  • Hi Welcome to the forum, 

It's good to hear that at least your doctor is presenting this at the panel meeting, cases are presented and are either rejected, more information requested then considered and accepted/rejected or referral is accepted and you will get an initial appointment this still doesn't guarantee that you will get an assessment. 

It is an uphill battle and these services are not easily accessible. Have you started implementing strategies at home like time tables, safe areas for him to decompress? 

We are still arguing for our daughters 3Rd referral but making changes and proceeding at home like she already has diagnosis is helping