Advice newly diagnosed.

Hi everyone. My son has recently been diagnosed with autism which we was expecting.  I am looking for advice on ways of trying to get my son to talk to us more. This has become more of a worry as he has recently started school (mainstream). 

He is under speech and language since he was 3 but it's been a slow process. He can talk in small sentences but just doesn't seem intrested, when we ask him questions. Now he is at school i am worrying about him a lot if he is ok and how his day has been.

Is there anything that others can suggest? That I can do to help with this? Is there any programmes he can use? 

Just looking for some advice. 

• I found this really worrying when my son was at school. He seemed to be on overload when he came home and didn't answer any questions of the 10 questions that I probably asked (which must have added to his overload!). He's now 22.

I am not an expert but who is?  - Everyone with an autistic spectrum condition is different.

Anyway here's my tuppence worth.

Wait - give your son a couple of hours to de-stress in his own way. If school has been stressful, the last thing he will want is to think about the days events.

Be concrete when you ask questions, eg: say "I am going to ask you 3 questions about school" ...and stick to that.

Ask your first question, try to be specific and then wait for an answer, not a few seconds but maybe up to a couple of minutes (whilst he may be re-running what did happen at school). Appreciate you may not get an answer. Ask your second and third specific/concrete question in the same way.

It might help for him to be able to point to a picture PECS rather than speak?

There are lots of different cards available on Amazon. Have you seen these picture cards for emotions and feelings?  They might help: https://www.amazon.co.uk/Feelings-Emotions-Exchange-Communication-Resource/dp/B00KCPP6G6/ref=sr_1_27?ie=UTF8&qid=1536939543&sr=8-27&keywords=pecs