Not finishing things

I never finish anything. 

Lol it's literally like it sounds. I start things and then I just abandon it. I started learning the guitar, stopped after a day. I write, either just for fun or working on a book or assignments...then I just stop.

I think I lose interest or mmaybe it's anxiety that it won't be any good? Anxiety that I'll fail?

Then just now I started making a sandwich and drink and stopped midway through no longer feeling interested in it. This causes me issues at times with self neglect because I don't eat and drink enough... and my school stuff goes unfinished.

Just curious really as to why I'm like this and if anyone else about this site can relate to it. I tell my family and they just stare at me. 

If it's something you do to let me know, would be nice if it's not just a me thing!BlushBlush

Parents
  • Whilst I've always had difficulty completing things that I didn't want to do and had no interest in, I never seemed to experience issues completing things that I enjoyed, such as my hobbies. However, as I've got older (I'm 49), this has changed, to the extent that I can struggle to even get started.

For example, I used to enjoy decorating. After having some plastering work done in my bedroom approximately 10 years ago, I had purchased the supplies I required to re-paint the ceiling, walls and woodwork. After all this time, my bedroom remains undecorated, and I feel it would be a miracle if the paint I'd purchased hasn't dried out by now.

One of my hobbies is diamond painting. Approximately 2½ years ago, I had got started on a diamond painting kit (a picture measuring 50cm x 40cm), and completed less than a quarter of it. I have every intention of finishing it, but for the past 2½ years it has remained untouched, taking up space on my kitchen table.