What is wrong with wanting to marry a man from a good family, with a good job and looks good too?

1. I told my colleagues this 

2. I fell out with this one guy and told him that the only reason he was gonna get girls was bc he was 1. tall and 2. his dad is rich 

3. Now everybody is making fun of me, telling me to stop bothering that one guy in an attempt to get my hands on his inheritance 

• Well, I've blundered into the occasional maelstrom of critique and unjustified accusations, partly through my own poor choice of words, but maybe I've got a bit better with more practice here...  

• I'm not good with my phrasing, I'll admit.

I don't know about that....your comments above seem pretty coherent (and correct) to me, fwiw.

• The more parameters one attaches to a "mate specification" the smaller the pool of potential mates becomes even before you get to the "can we stand each others company for long periods?" bit.

I've seen some proofs of this both on the internet and also walking about in real life...

I literally have none of the required characteristics, but I have not lived alone since I reduced my own parameters to a more realsitic level of expection in my late twenties. 

This suggests to me that your combination of characteristics actually exposes you to savage competion, for a very small pool of men, and I posit is the "lottery ticket" approach rather than the "put in the work" approach to courtship.

I'm not good with my phrasing, I'll admit.

• There’s nothing wrong with it at all. 

• I have known some very vain people who spend everything they have and borrow to the max to portray a wealthy appearance.

I think they call it leveraging - something very common amongst this group of "elites" where they find ways to risk other peoples money if it goes wrong but keep the profits it if goes well.

Trump is a classic case of this in his business dealings.