Weighted back pack for adults - Autistic equipment

Hi.

I am an occupational therapy student who is looking at developing a weighted back pack for adults with autism. I have noticed in the market that there are little tools and equipment for adults with ASD. Little research has been conducted which is very interesting. Would you feel a weighted back pack would be helpful for you? Whether its to help you remain calm in anxiety provoking situations? Whether a weighted backpack can assisted you with your gait (walking) and posture?

We are aiming to have a range of back packs with different weights in each. The recommendation for children is 10% of their weight should be added to the equipment. Therefore we will have 5/6 different back packs with different weight. Our target audience is adults with autism who are attending university, but overall the backpack will look professional and 'mainstream' meaning that anyone can wear them.

I would love to hear your opinion.

Parents
  • Hi there.  I don't leave the house without a backpack and I do find it helps with my anxiety.  My backpack tends to be heavy without adding additional weight, as I often carry more than I probably need to be prepared for potential situations and events.  The downside to this is that carrying too much weight does exhaust me and deplete my energy levels quickly, so I have to be careful and try and avoid this.

• Thank you so much for writting back to me. This has really helped and given me a good insight into the struggles involved. Do you think that if your backpack already had the comfortable amount of weight you would still fill it?

• Thank you so much for writting back to me. This has really helped and given me a good insight into the struggles involved. Do you think that if your backpack already had the comfortable amount of weight you would still fill it?

Children