I don't enjoy anything anymore

Hi

What do you do when you feel like you don't enjoy the things you love anymore. I don't know whether its because of my Asperger's, because of COVID or of something else completely different. I'm really sorry but I don't feel like I can talk about this to anyone close to me. I haven't done anything music related since I graduated from unviersity, I hardly do anything outside of work, i.e. don't go out to places, meet up with friends as I barely know anyone outside of work. Also recently, I feel like I'm starting lose my other passion for books as well as I have barely read for the past week or so.

I feel like I'm stuck. Help

Parents
  • I feel this way most days and have done for years.  I am a serial procrastinater.  Mañana is my answer to most things.

I think this is partly the Aspergers, mostly it's burn out.  You sound like you need a holiday with complete cut off from everything. 

A couple of times a year I go off on holiday on my own and do what i want.  Some years I ride my motorbike to random places in the country and explore and camp in a tent.  I talk to people I want to or don't and basically just enjoy everything around me.  Other times I go trekking for a week, walking 10-15 miles a day and camping.  I take a phone with music, headphones and a rucksack with the usual stuff you take for trekking/camping (tent, food, clothes, etc).  I don't go online except for online maps and online music, I don't do emails or social media while i'm away.  I might talk to my family on the phone every couple of days to let them know im ok, but thats about it.

You sound like you need something similar.  When you are re-energised, then go back to normal life.

If you need a break from work, ask your doctor.  Tell him/her how you are feeling and that you think you are burning out and that it is taking a toll on you mentally.  See if they will sign you off for a fortnight or month.  Then go and disconnect from the world for a while.