Time for Change. Good or bad idea ?

Hi there. This is a long story but i will try and keep it brief. I divorced my wife in 2007, both my sons ended up living with their mum but we enjoyed our time together on weekends and during school holidays. Life seemed reasonably normal. 

In 2016 my eldest son left mums home to start university. At the same time i was offered a job overseas but was able to return monthly for at least a long weekend to spend time with my youngest son who at that time had just turned 15. Overnight he developed a hand washing OCD and refused to touch anything in case of contamination. I thought this would pass but it just got worse and worse.

His mum tried to hide the problems at first because she didn't want people to know. She told stories to the MHT of how her side of the family were helping out with the increasingly difficult routines but in reality this wasn't true. She was hiding the truth.

I am not an expert but encouraged my son from day one in an attempt to turn things around. Briefly an example would be that i would monitor and time his hand washing whereas his mum would purchase larger size hand wash containers allowing him to stand and wash until his hands were raw. He would ask for help putting shoes on and i would in the nicest way possible refuse and offer words of encouragement saying "you can do it, youve done it since you were a small boy. HIs mum would instantly jump in to help and dress and wash him, sometimes helping him even to go  to the toilet. 

She is a loving mum and i know she is doing the best she can to cope but i see it that she has just been giving into the problem and feeding the rituals rather than challenging them. Until just over a year ago we would see each other regularly and he would stay at my house, we would walk the dog together and i tried to make things as normal as possible.