Hi Everyone

Hi, Everyone,

I was diagnosed with Autism Spectrum Disorder in January 2017 and I am finding the courage to come out into the open. I am both an artist and writer.

I would describe my condition as mild. I have a Higher National Diploma in Art and Design. During my childhood years, I had extreme difficulties with reading writing and arithmentic and which used to get me into a lot of troubel and result in being hit and made to stand and face the wall for the rest of the lesson and humilated. I remember my mother commenting that I should be reading books that were suited to children younger than me and I should be reading more advanced books. Since I have been diagnosed, it has enabled me to understand my past behavioral patterns. When I explained to my psychotherapist what I had to endure during my earlier school years, she was absolutely shocked. 

Parents
  • Hello.  Hope you're coming to things and having the time to put everything in perspective.  I think a lot of us had less than pleasant experiences at school.

• Hi Windscale, I am coming to terms with everything, slowly but surely. Since my diagnosis, I have been able to put things into perspective. My very best wishes.

• What sort of art and writing do you like doing?  I like certain types of art but I don't really have much skill to create much myself.  I've tended to do more technical writing.  I wasn't a particular fan of literary criticism at school, since I like to form an overall impression of a work and categorise as either like or not really for me.  I didn't much enjoy all the analysis of piece and taking it apart.