28 and after research I think I might be on the spectrum

All my life I've been very socially awkward and never really enjoyed interacting with people who I don't already know in person. I find personal conflict and arguments unsettling, and find it very difficult to deal with complex social situations where there are no scripts to work from.

I work in retail, with a focus on customer service, and as long as I stick to a script I'm fine, but I can't deal with small talk and often find myself standing near a customer that needed my help for perhaps a little bit too long. I also find it difficult to engage in any meaningful conversation with my co-workers unless there's already some measure of conversation going on.

The curveball for me is I suppose the stereotypical lack of empathy people with autism are supposed to have, and if anything I would describe myself as opposite to that. Despite me not liking social situations, I can immediately tell if something is bothering someone and find myself in tune and able to relate to people's emotions incredibly easily. Another empathy quirk of mine is that I get very quickly attached to characters in stories, whether they are in books I'm reading, or RPGs I'm playing (I legitimately cry when emotional things in books/games happen, even at things that wouldn't really impact me if confronted with them in a real life situation.)

Now that I think about it, much of my social skillset feels like a paradox. I am unable to hold a verbal conversation face to face with people easily, yet I find myself able to talk about things with elloquence and at length when the communication is done in the format of text, for example in a forum like this, or a text chat in one of the games I play.