An Introduction

Hi I'm a twenty-eight year old graduate coming to terms with (hence the user name) with the fact I have autism, and have since the age of eight. Due to various circumstances I can't remember being diagnosed and it has been kept from me by my parents and family, who feared me having another label placed on me. I say another label because I also have dyspraxia and dyscalculia, both diagnosed at the age of four. 

The circumstances surrounding my diagnosis have only just recently come to light in the past week or so. It was thought by the directors at my voluntary placement that I might have autistic traits, and they discussed this with me. I quite honestly agreed as I have always thought the same, but was never able to put a name to it. So, I went to my GP on another routine matter, and asked if I could be tested for autism. He looked through my records, and said it wouldn't be necessary as I had been diagnosed at the age of eight. As I have said previously, I have no recollection of this, so it came as something of a shock, even if I had always suspected it.

Since then I've had mixed feelings, part relief that I can finally put a name to some of the behaviours I have experienced, part fear of how people would react and I think I'm quite angry too, at my parents and family for keeping it from me, and myself. Anger at myself for not recognising or doing something about it earlier, for some of the things I have done, for being the way I am.