Help Pls

Hello, I'm new to the world of autism. I'm not actually diagnosed quite yet but I am almost positive I'm on the spectrum. I've done online tests and each one agreed I was likely autistic and I've read up on it so many times and I have a lot of traits that match up. I'm tempted to go private, the waiting is causing distress to me and I have a lot else on my plate at the same time and struggle to balance it all out. 

That is one of my questions which I am hoping you can advise me on. Should I continue waiting or go private for the diagnosis? I'm not sure if it will be any faster and also if it's as good as the NHS. I went private for dentist before lockdown and I found it was worse. Not sure what to do here.

My other problem is anxiety. I'm constantly anxious and I read up on it and read about things to do like breathing exercises but they didn't work for me. I also tried yoga and that didn't work either. Any advice for this is welcome.

Last is sleeping. I don't sleep much. I get about three hours and then I'm awake again and feel refreshed. I spend most of the night awake doing things I also do during the day. But I don't think it's insomnia because I feel awake, it's not like I'm dead tired all the time. Has anyone else been like this? 

If it's ok to do so I'm going to continue posting my journey here.

Parents
  • Private might be your answer, but bare in mind a few things.

1) Check out with your Trust what the policy is if you get a private assessment.  Mine will not re-assess anyone who has a private assessment but will not provide post diagnostic support either.  Some areas I hear will only accept NHS diagnosis, others it makes no difference.  This is of course all nuts.  What matters, or should matter is that you get one that has been properly done.  However, whatever your local answer is will feed your decision, I'm sure.