'People with autism have stronger connections between brain cells'

I wasn't certain about posting this, but thought people might be interested - even if just for the Reply to it left at the end.

I dislike the language of 'impairments', and the distinction the author seems to be making between 'mentally healthy' patients and autistic ones.

Be interested in others' thoughts and opinions...

People with autism 'have stronger connections between brain cells, making it harder for them to switch off.'

Parents
  • Another thing is music.  As a younger man, and essentially throughout life, I used to be really infuriating with music.  I'd keep stopping and rewinding a particular section - a guitar riff or drum solo - and play it over and over.  Or I'd put a song on, play a bit of it, then put something else on, then something else - never getting the whole way through.  I used to work in a shop that sold stereo equipment, and I'd pre-record tapes of my favourite music and just play them all day until someone else would say 'Haven't we heard this enough already?'  I get stuck on particular bands or singers (or authors) and will listen to (or read) nothing else.  I don't like getting used to new music or literary genres because I like to stay with what I know.  It takes a long time to move on to something different.

Working with autistic people has made me recognise a lot of my own habits and routines.  We have people who will simply play the same piece of music over and over for hours on end - and keep going back to favourite parts before the whole thing has finished.  I'm very much like that, at a different level.