Do you relate to NEETS/Hikikomori?

Hi there, I have recently been reading the sub-reddits for NEETS/Hikikomori via the Reddit website. For those that might not know, a NEET is somebody who isn't in employment, education or training and a hikikomori is a Japanese term for a social recluse/shut-in. I don't qualify in either category as I have a full-time job but can relate to them more than "normal"(?) people due to personal experiences of being bullied and ostracised (+ judged for mental health issues) and don't really blame them for checking out of society.

I think what bothers me is that there isn't much support for people who fall under these categories; they tend to be judged a lot for choosing not to work (especially as most tend to have poor experiences of being bullied in the workplace despite employers campaigning for better mental health support and such).

I'm not sure if I am making sense here but I hope I am (sometimes I am not good at explaining things).

• I thought in Japan, it was about elderly people with no families, it's sad as people are dying and not being found until days or weeks later, but there seems to be little community self help.

If someone's independently wealthy then they're eccentric if they don't want to engage with the outside world, the government only bother when you cost them money for benefits or whatever.