How did you react to your diagnosis?

I was diagnosed late last year at 42 and was initially happy with the result. Since then my wife says I've gone downhill and been in a poor state mood/mental health wise (I'm not good at recognising my own mental state so her input is vital). I'm wondering whether processing my diagnosis has been harder than I expected and I'm wondering how you found diagnosis as an adult?

• I think processing the diagnosis can be really difficult for a lot of people. If it was difficult for me and because life is ever changing it's a constant time of processing everything going on in your life and around you.

Being autistic is a huge thing, it's a lot to take in so give yourself time. I was diagnosed a few years ago and even now I'm still coming to terms with my diagnosis and what it means for me. It's not always easy but I remain happy at being diagnosed early in life.

How you're feeling is absolutely normal. We're here if you need to talk or need support. Look after yourself and take care.

• A little late to this but I was so relieved I started crying. When the psychiatryUk person confirmed it I felt so much relief. I'd been considering having autism for a while, almost 2 and a half years, but had spent a lot of time telling myself I was making it up (due to being called an attention seeker for the majority of my life). She also said I showed signs of ADHD (now diagnosed with that recently too). There was also grief, knowing how many people missed things - Family (several who literally work with people like me), friends, doctors, psychologists, school, college, counsellors. 

• Diagnosed at 24. I was left with a report to read through, and I just stopped and read through the suggestions on help to receive.

I am mad that no one throughout my education and GP visits flagged that my suffering and loneliness were a result of my autistic brain.