Book reviews of autism related books

Hello everyone, I've been digging about for more information on autism since my diagnosis 2 years ago and have come up with a lot of books (141 at last count and growing by the month).

My question here is whether there is any place on this or another forum that reviews these?

For example some are aimed at the carers of profoundly autistic children and adults, some are aimed at the less profoundly autistic / aspbergers adults with almost a manual of how to live with the different traits and others are more academic and probably more of interest to therapists.

A few are just misinformed or badly written, some are like a workbook to help children develop to their full potential and others are more of a life story - a real mish mash of styles and contents.

I'm happy to try to build a review process and work through these but there is no point reinventing the wheel if this has already beed done.

So for part 1 - does this exist? If so, where?

Part 2 will happen if this does not exist and ask how would it be best to structure the reviews.

I have everything in DRM free PDF or EPUB files so may be able to pass these to anyone who wants to join in the review process. I'm not sure how this is perceived by the mods but please feel free to tell me if this is a no-go.

Parents
  • Hello. Below I have posted a link to a spreadsheet of autistic experience/neurodivergence related books:

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1N9A6SUxJPr2j03p5d48-Moxe9dKexfxdNgeOG007ayA/htmlview

As others have stated there are numerous other posts about book recommendation on autistic experience.

• Thanks for the list. Some writers you haven't included are Katherine May, Robyn Steward, Fern Brady, Sarah Hendrickx, Charlotte Moore, Laura James, Sonny Jane Wise, Eva A. Mendes, Rudy Simone.