Work

Hi, I'm Katy. I'm finding work difficult at the moment and feel like I might be burning out gradually. I work as a Personal Assistant and spend most of my time at work in my office typing and answering the phone, both are hard to do especially the phone but I do ok. But at the moment there's a new guy on the floor and he keeps coming in my office and asks how it's going and he walks behind me and keeps putting his hand on my shoulder, he doesn't do anything just places his hand and that's it and asks how I am, if I need any help, how's my day. It triggers my anxiety and making conversation is something I struggle with. It's basically taking me from my comfort zone and I don't know what to do about it. I mask at work anyway but I'm having to mask more now and I'm exhausted and my nerves are in pieces.

I always enjoyed going into work, into my office where I could put my head down and get on with what I'm good at doing but now I'm not liking it and some days I don't want to go in anymore. This has been my one and only job, I've never worked anywhere else and wanted to change but now I'm thinking about going somewhere else.

I don't know what to do.

Parents
  • it will be difficult as most other places you move to will likely be more invasive.
    the guy may probably stop doing that eventually when he realises your response is probably the same and predictable all the time so he cant get a different response, i mean surely if you keep just saying fine all the time hed stop asking right? (i dont know why i asked that as they never do stop even when they get the same response all the time) and if you dont really say anything else it would be awkward for him and hed surely leave.