Autism Burnout

A video on Autism Burnout (fatigue) from the Pete Wharmby, a great autistic speaker and writer.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JNDQ2glqHj8

All the internal and external factors autistic people face can take its toll over time - mentally worn down from masking, enduring difficult situations, anxiety about the present/future, trauma from the past, and then non-autism things that life throws at you.  It is good to be aware of it, even if its not happen to you know it might in the future.

It is not well researched or understood, so getting help for it is difficult, but like any fatigue its a good idea to be kind to yourself, mentally and physically.

If you aren't familiar with Pete then watch his other videos if you can.

Parents
  • I just did a quick literature search on autistic burnout (I am a scientist so this is what I do when in crisis mode...) and I found some interesting recent papers: 

This paper tries to give a more detailed definitition of autistic burnout and how it differs from depression and other forms of burnout. They interviewed autistic people that had gone through burnout: 

https://journals.sagepub.com/doi/abs/10.1177/13623613211019858

I tried to attach the PDF version of it (as it isn't open access) but not sure if I can attach PDFs/ files on this forum? If you are interested I will see if I can somehow get a copy of the whole article to you. 

This part from the discussion might also be of interest: