Overthinking and Anxiety in Autism

Hi everyone!

It's my first post here so nice to meet you all Slight smile

I'm a 26 year old female from UK and I want to reach out to a community to feel less alone and to see if anyone can give some advice on an issue (or two) I'm having.

So a back story..

I've been diagnosed since I can remember so I've always known to be under the autistic spectrum (mostly i'd say.. Asperger's) but because I wasn't really informed about it because I was so early diagnosed, I still believe I am still learning to this day how to deal with some of my issues, especially as an adult in an adult world. I come to realise how incredibly naive I had become and I'm trying to catch up on my emotional age to my physical age.. so for example, I'm 26 but I still feel like I'm 19.

So recently, so many life events have happened, which I still feel I am still trying to catch up! one obvious thing which I believe has been difficult to many of us, Covid happened, so lots of adjusting to a 'new' normal.. but not only that:

- I had to move out of my parent's house and get myself in a new flat with my boyfriend, learned what council tax is, how to organise bills, set up providers.. grocery shopping.. all those things I used to rely on my parents for 25 years!

- Had to improve my communication and relationship skills with my boyfriend. I'd pick on fights based on my anxiety and insecurities. Based on our fights, I've been trying to be a 'better person' and with this autistic mindset, you can imagine I'm doing a checklist of things that is good to do and not good to do.. when in reality.. I should be myself? I know no one is perfect but I'm so scared of communicating something wrongly or get my irritation in the way and start a fight.

- I got into my first full-time job in mid-2020 (before I moved out) and I had to set up my own company so I had to learn about taxes, self-employment etc..