Work

There is my work situation.

I don’t know how to solve this and I hope someone could help.

1. I work as a lab tech - it’s a very small laboratory (20 people in total, therefore no HR)
  2. There are 3 lab technicians
  3. I’m the most senior lab tech because I’ve been working for this company for over 5 years (the rest under a year)
  4. There is high staff turnover (lab techs usually stay for about a year)
  5. I’m supposed to train and supervise the new staff - since the most senior lab tech left 2.5 years ago (I was fine for a first year as I had really supportive coworker but she left over a year ago and since then I’m struggling)
  6. I don’t know how to supervise people and I don’t know how to manage other people’s time and workload (what they need to do and when and what next)
  7. I’m fine with organising my own workload.
  8. I don’t know what to do when someone is refusing to do something, pretending they’re busy even though they’re clearly aren’t (my manager told me to be more confident - but how? Am I supposed to yell at people or what? But I don’t want to create a war zone at work)
  9. I don’t know how to solve this problem other than leaving the job. 
  10. I find this situation really stressful
  11. I like this job because it’s quiet and I don’t have to be in the same room as everyone else if I don’t want to and it’s quite relaxed environment so I don’t really want to leave (I don’t do well in interviews anyway)

There might be a simple idea how to solve my problem but I just can’t see the solution.

Parents
  • I’m not diagnosed yet but my manager knows I’m on the waiting list. Nobody else knows. I’m not sure my manager knows what to do with that information and honestly, I’m not even sure what would help and what exactly I could ask for.