Autism, self analysis, regret, anxiety and distress. Suicide risk

As a psychology doctor I do find I analyse the reasons people choose what to write on this forum and a recurrent theme with virtually every post is distressed self analysis.

As autistic people we do have some 10 years shorter life expectancy than average with a very high suicide rate and I feel the main reason is our self analysis, regret and distress, coupled with our difficulty in pursuing and reinforcing enjoyment and fun.

Todays church bible reading was relevant

Matthew 6:25-27  “Therefore I tell you, do not be anxious about your life, what you will eat or what you will drink, nor about your body, what you will put on. Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothing?  Look at the birds of the air: they neither sow nor reap nor gather into barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not of more value than they? And which of you by being anxious can add a single hour to his span of life?”

what do you think?  How can we best improve our daily living?

Parents
  • Greetings, & Thanks very much for the TV Channel, Mr."Dave"...

As I often say, 'hopefully someone else will post a better reply thn this one'... but here are some comments anyway (Yes I am Autistic/Aspergers.).

Paragraph 1: Pretty much a lot of persons first joining would be joining because they are or have someone they know (or a child, mostly) who is "diagnosed Autistic". They are thrown by the term, often not knowing what it means, and worry that, say, the World is Ending, maybe. The "Distressed Self Analysis" comes from as little as simply *looking up* the Term "Autism" to checking back upon anyone's life experiences in order to re-think: "so that is why I am so good at/could not do" various things.