Diagnostic assessment

Hi, I am a woman in my 30’s. I have 5 kids and a full time job and am set to go for my ASD assessment next week.  I am really nervous.  I have hid things my whole life, my crazy ruminating, bizarre thought processes, constant criticism of myself.  At this point I am hoping the assessor will be able to see beyond my mask and help me.  

I have been asked to bring with me my school reports which arent remarkable.  I was a good student, pleasant, so nothing to really see there.  

I have read up on the difference in girls with ASD and am really hoping that the diagnosticians are prepared for that type of presentation for I definitely don’t scream out that I have ASD. Well according to my family and friends yes I am quirky and they wouldn’t be surprised if I get a diagnosis, but others who don’t know me well just see me as normal.  Is there anything I need to know before I go or has anyone any idea what I should expect? G

Parents
  • Try not to worry - ASD assessors are very good at seeing behind masks and the assessment itself is designed to facilitate that. It is hard to say what to expect as there are many different ways of doing an assessment.

I am a woman in my late 50's, diagnosed with ASD nearly 4 weeks ago. The psychologists who assessed me gave me a description of the stages they would work through and specified one of the tests they would use (ADOS-2). There are other ASD assessment tools like CLASS and DISCO.

You can always ask what format your assessment will follow. I supplied written notes about my infancy, childhood, adolescence and early adulthood. That wasn't requested by the assessor but it made me feel better. I wasn't sure what my parents and siblings had said as I asked them to send their questionnaires straight back to the psychologist.