anxious about transition

I am am soon entering the last year of my course. And that means going out into the real world, and I feel anxious because the world seems so complicated, and there's so much that's new. I think that as a student, I think you are in a relatively protected environment, but a lot of the support will be gone after graduating.

I was wondering if people here would be willing to share their experiences in the real world? Anything from how to deal with transitioning from a student to an employee, finding a competent job as well as one you enjoy, how to deal with networking and communication in your job, making friends at work, also practical life skills like learning to drive, or renting/buying and maintaining a house, and maybe things like insurances, and investments, and taxes, and lawsuits (these are things I've heard but never really had to deal with). Many thanks!

Parents
  • Have you asked these questions of anyone supporting you at the moment?

Are your parents / siblings / friends any use?

What course are you studying and what employment do you expect afterwards? Is it more practical or theoretical?

Do you have any idea of what jobs you'd like to do?

What life skills do you have now? Are you living at home or on campus?

Be assured - if you're clever enough to be in further education, then there's nothing complicated in doing 'life', just a lot of little things to remember.

• Have you asked these questions of anyone supporting you at the moment?

Are your parents / siblings / friends any use?

What course are you studying and what employment do you expect afterwards? Is it more practical or theoretical?

Do you have any idea of what jobs you'd like to do?

What life skills do you have now? Are you living at home or on campus?

Be assured - if you're clever enough to be in further education, then there's nothing complicated in doing 'life', just a lot of little things to remember.

Children
  • Thanks for your reply, Plastic.