Coping with my partner.

My girlfriend suffers with Asperger's Syndrome. I would just like to have some additional support as although I am coping okay with them at the moment, I feel as though I am not doing enough and need to be more "clued up" on the whole situation. 
This is my first time being in an intimate, committed relationship with an autistic person and I understand that not everyone with AS suffers the same and each individual will be different and need different things in order to function as best as possible. I guess the struggle with Ash (my girlfriend) is that they find it very difficult to open up to me when they're feeling stressed or just not 100%. Me myself, finds it difficult to pick up on when they feel like this, as they tend to mask it with trying to be "normal" and I'm basically just crap at sensing when they need me to just leave them alone and let them get their thoughts together. One way I have tried to solve this problem is by setting up a traffic light system, for example when Ash is feeling good and not at all stressed, they are GREEN. When they are feeling a little on edge and a meltdown may occur today or in the next couple of days, they are AMBER. When they are feeling really stressed to the point where a meltdown is imminent, they are RED. I ask every day how they're feeling and they will respond to me with a colour which lets me know if they're okay or if they need me to help in some way. This has massively helped our communication, however when I am present during a meltdown I struggle to know how to comfort Ash and get them through it to the best of my ability. I wondered if there was another or better way we could improve our communication?