28, Autistic and mostly alone - Introduction.

Hi. I'm Adam.

I'm a teacher, a father and I am autistic. 

I'm lucky to have my partner, as she has been my rock and we share a lot of interests, but some of my interests, I find incredibly difficult to relay to others full stop let alone her. 

Some of my BIG interests include: Bionicle, Minecraft, classic Yu-Gi-Oh, Pokemon and MTG. I love nature, gardening is a growing interest of mine, and I'm a big gamer.

So what is the issue? As I've gotten older, I've become lonely. I'm unable to make friends or be social. I'm anxious and find most of my nights are filled with regret over the friends I havent made over the years. I used to have a best friend, but my trust has been shattered and I've found befriending people very difficult since then. This coupled with my social anxiety and ASD has made it near impossible to make friends. As time goes on I find myself becoming more and more lonely. 

It's as if despite how lucky I am, I just can't find people to connect with or befriend.

Any advice anyone has would be appreciated. Anyone who wants to talk about anything, you're all welcome too.

Parents
  • Hi Adam,