No Friends

Hello,

It is quite late but I cannot sleep at this time. I have always liked to be on my own most of the time but sometimes I feel a bit lonely. So, as of now, I have literally no friends (both online and in person) and I feel like I am upset by this. However, I have found it hard to interest other people and keep friends that I have made in the past as I am not good at communication and not talkative enough. This has been a life long issue for me. I never really had friends but wanted to have some.

I now feel lonely and would like to discuss things I am interested with, with other people and thought maybe those who have difficulties with communication will be more understanding. So, maybe I can meet people on here or maybe be informed about autistic groups in London area if there are any. I am quite nervous about speaking to people online hence not doing this before but it was suggested that I give it a go.

Thank you

Jai (Nickname)

Parents
  • Damn, I relate a lot to both this post and its replies. I think it's very safe to say that you're not alone here. 

I have no clue how one makes friends in this day and age as an adult, and that can be really frustrating. Even if autism wasn't a factor, it's not like one can go up to random people and ask them to be friends, eh? haha

If you, or anyone else reading this ever wants to just talk about anything in PMs, I'll be happy to as I'm also struggling a lot with loneliness and, even if we don't end up becoming friends, it'll be nice to stimulate the social part of my brain to avoid cobwebs forming there once in a while haha. Of course there's no pressure either, as I know how scary it can be to message people one doesn't know.